Baptism Dress

We decided to get baby G baptised. Her sister was baptised at 5 weeks of age and had a beautiful dress and pant suit given to us by my cousin and his wife. Baby G was 5 months old when she was baptised and Little M’s suit would not fit her. She has also grown much faster than her sister did.
So I decided I was going to sew a dress for baptism. I did not want to spend a lot of money buying a pattern then cutting it out so I scoured the Internet for patterns. I came across Make It Love It blog. The idea was to take an existing dress and trace the pattern from it. So I took a dress of baby G’s that she wore one Sunday to church and I loved it and traced the pattern on a paper.

Pattern Ready for Cutting

Pattern Ready for Cutting

The bodice is one piece from shoulder to hem and has no sleeves but had collar. I hate collars. I could not get the size right in school. Thankfully I had my Mom to help me. Yay for technology, instant help all the way from Upstate New York to Brisbane. I messaged her a picture and she told me what adjustments to make.

The dress was straight forward but I decided I want to do embroidery as well. I had not embroidered in 23 years. Mom had brought some works of generations of women in our family who had embroidered and nothing can go more heirloom than embroidery right? After once again looking at christening and baptism embroidery on the Internet I decided, since the dress is non traditionally cream, why not do a non traditional embroidery too. My husband and I love Sakura or Japanese cherry blossoms.

Embroidery Design Drawing Board

Embroidery Design Drawing Board

The anime really makes them look beautiful so I decided to embroider different stages of cherry blossoms on the dress. The collar has one on each side.

Embroidery Detail

Embroidery Detail

I lined the dress with matching cotton so the edges and the embroidery won’t chafe my baby.

Complete Costume

Complete Costume

I added a pair of bloomers to the dress with the leftover material. And of course you have to have a pair of booties so I made felt ones. Pattern was from Hello my name is Heather.

Bitty Booties

Bitty Booties

Leave a Reply

