White Forest Cake

White Forest Cross Section

White Forest Cross Section

I like to bake my family their birthday cakes. I also like to try new ideas. So it was my husband’s birthday and he loves Black Forest cake.

Traditional Black Forest cakes are made of Chocolate Génoise cake layers soaked in Kirsch with cherries and cream filling.

My problem was that our 4 yr old daughter was going to eat it so Kirsch had to be out. I’m breastfeeding and baby G is not a happy baby when I eat chocolate so chocolate was out as well. I still wanted to make the cake so I decided I will make White Forest cake instead. i could not find a recipe for the cake itself so I decided to try White Chocolate Génoise cake. I found a few forums who talked about it.

In a brown chocolate Génoise cake, the chocolate is cocoa powder but in the white one, the chocolate is real chocolate. Génoise cake has whole eggs as a leavening agent so I find it a bit delicate than a normal sponge cake. I decided to make a vanilla Génoise cake and use the chocolate in the frosting instead.

Vanilla Genoise Cake

Vanilla Génoise Cake

My recipe for Génoise cake was from 1997 edition of Joy of Cooking. For the syrup to soak the cake, I used cherries. The frosting and the filling is classic Buttercream from the Joy of Cooking as well. I made a batch of it and when I wanted to frost the cake, I added some melted white chocolate to the buttercream frosting. The Joy of Cooking has the recipe to make brown chocolate buttercream, I substituted brown to white.

White Forest Top

White Forest Top

Things to take note of:

  1. The recipe called for clarified butter. Ghee IS clarified butter but it’s cooked a bit more to get the nutty flavour. I used ghee and either my ghee had gone off or it just does not taste good, I wouldn’t know but never again will I make Génoise cake with ghee. Supermarket sell clarified butter else, the Joy of Cooking has recipe to make it, I would follow that.
  2. I cooked my syrup a bit too thick. It was too difficult for it to soak into the cake. Next time, I will keep it a bit runny.
  3. Cherries may work for brown chocolate cakes but not so much for a white chocolate cake. This cake would have looked better with a red fruit, maybe raspberries or strawberries.
Leave a Reply

